7 Reasons to buy the all-new Volvo XC90


The Volvo XC90 is, quite simply, the safest new car on sale in Britain. It was awarded with the inaugural Safety Award at this year’s What Car? Awards. It also earned a five star overall rating in their road test.

Like other large SUVs, such as the BMW X5, Mercedes-Benz GLE, Audi Q7 and Land Rover Discovery Sport, the Volvo XC90 offers the high driving position, luxurious interior and family friendly practicality which SUV buyers love. Costing from £46,850, it might be one of the more expensive SUVs around, but it’s also one of the best.


So, why does the Volvo XC90 deserve to be on your driveway? Read on to find out.

7 reasons to buy a Volvo XC90

7. Hybrid power

Opt for the petrol-electric hybrid version of the XC90 – badged as the T8 – and you can travel for up to 24 miles on electric power alone. That’s perfect if you’re travelling into cities like London, where it will be exempt from the congestion charge.

6. Comfortable inside

There’s plenty of adjustment for the driver’s seat and steering wheel, meaning you can easily get comfortable. The pedals are nicely placed, too, making the XC90 comfortable for long drives.


5. Genuine seven-seater

Most SUVs which claim to have seven seats will often leave third-row occupants feeling cheated for space, and while the XC90’s rearmost seats aren’t the biggest, they’ll be fine for smaller adults, particularly on shorter journeys.


4. High rider

The XC90’s tall seating position and large windows mean that it’s easy to see out of, but parking sensors and a multitude of cameras are also available, as is a semi-autonomous parking assistant.

3. Big, practical boot

The XC90 comes with one of the biggest boots in the large SUV market, and can take a full complement of luggage with no trouble. If you do need more space, the five rear seats can be moved around or folded away.


2. Loaded with kit

The reason why ‘What Car’ recommend the entry-level Momentum version of the XC90 is because it has everything you’d want – cruise control, leather seats, parking sensors, satellite navigation and climate control are all standard.

1. Safety as standard

City braking technology, road sign recognition and six airbags are standard on every XC90, and optional equipment includes a blind spot monitoring system. There’s also a five-star Euro NCAP safety rating to consider.